Outside air temperature indicator

General Chat about the Mk1 QashQai
HARRY H

Post by HARRY H »

Dear All. I am a newbie to this forum I own a 59 plate Qashqai 1.5 dci. I bought the car some 3-1/2 years ago and I am generally pleased with it. Yesterday, when I set off on a short journey, I noticed that the outside temp. indicator was flashing, with no reading, just dashes. It then started to show a temperature of 38 Deg. C, though the actual temp was around 3 Deg. C. This morning, starting from cold, a temperature of 40 Deg. C was indicated, though it was about 2. I apologise if this problem is posted elsewhere. Pleas can anyone throw some light on this. Thanks and best wishes. Harry H.ps. I did originally post this onto the J11 Forum, where GEL kindly pointed e at this one
HFH

AlleyCat

Post by AlleyCat »

There is a thermistor located down the "bonnet catch" hole.It's probably got some grot in it / damaged wiring.Commodity part i'd assume it's cheap to get it replaced but wouldn't know for sure.Either that or have you got it in fahrenheit by accident?That wouldn't be wildly inaccurate (i know you said C) just making a leap of thought.
Nissan no more...
gvmdaddy

Post by gvmdaddy »

Your car must be dreaming of being somewhere warm!
HARRY H

Post by HARRY H »

Thanks Alley Cat. I'll give that a coat of looking at tomorrow. The indicator does say 'C' but the numbers would make sense in F. Is it possible to select between F and C?Thanks and Best Wishes. Harry H
HFH
HARRY H

Post by HARRY H »

Believe me! So am I. So am I. Best Wishes Harry H
HFH
HARRY H

Post by HARRY H »