Starting in the Cold

Non-Technical Nissan QashQai chat. Mk2, Mk3
firestarteruk

Post by firestarteruk »

I'm new to my Qash had it about 5 months. Its a 14 plate so the new shape. 1.6 Diesel.

Cold starting in the mornings after a frost is proving a struggle. I have the push buttion start model, Manual gears.

I assumed that when I pushed the button that the car would wait and heat via glowplugs before turning over.

I seems the car tries to start right away and tries about 3 cycles before firing.

Am I doing something wrong?

ovation99

Post by ovation99 »

Yes you are !
Push the Start button WITHOUT touching the clutch or brake pedals, then wait for the "coil" warning light go out.
Then start as normal
firestarteruk

Post by firestarteruk »

Wow that's great, ill try that next time. Is that in the manual as the preferred method?
ovation99

Post by ovation99 »

Don't know about that, as I don't have a diesel anymore, but thats what I used to do when I did have a Tekna 1.5 dci.
It makes sense that you have to have the coil at enough temperature to ignite the fuel and obviously this takes a little longer in cold weather.
Brill

Post by Brill »

We have the diesel automatic model and I always get in, press the start button, then while I am putting my seatbelt on and adjusting seat, mirror etc (because the wife has been driving it) it starts.
1.6 DCI CVT Acenta Premium September 2014
duncho

Post by duncho »

Brill wrote:We have the diesel automatic model and I always get in, press the start button, then while I am putting my seatbelt on and adjusting seat, mirror etc (because the wife has been driving it) it starts.
I don't know how about the manual but CVT does the job itself after you attempt to start the car Brake + Start button (during engine start delay glow plugs are engaged). Starting ignition prior engine start is useless.
Qashqai J11, 1.6 dCi CVT, ThermaClear

For latest news & tests Subscribe! to my Youtube channel