Start/stop tech- how does it work?

Non-Technical Nissan QashQai chat. Mk2, Mk3
Kris2.palmer
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai - J11 (2013–2017)

Post by Kris2.palmer »

Hi guys,

I've just brought a 15 plate Qashqai Ntec+, LOVE IT!

I would like some clarification as to how to use the start stop tech? It sometimes seems to work when I stop in traffic, but at other times does not. Can someone treat me like a complete novice and tell me what to do? Ie, neutral and press break pedal ect.

Thanks in advance!

MikeGC
Qashqai Model: Mk.3 Qashqai - J12 (2021+) New Model

Post by MikeGC »

Gearbox in neutral.
After that, it's a bit of a lottery.
Some factors
1. - heated seats, front or rear window on - the engine might not stop.
2. - big difference between requested internal heating and outside temperature - it might not stop
In summary, from my personal experience (Juke 1.5dci and QQ 1.5dci) the electronic control unit (ECU) decides but how those choices are made can vary

edit for spelling
Last edited by MikeGC on Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
March '22 - J12 1.3DIG-T 160 CVT Tekna+ with all wheel drive - Pearl Black
July '19 - J11B 1.3DIG-T 160 DCT Tekna - Vivid Blue
March '17 - Qashqai J11A 1.5dci n-connecta - gunmetal
September '14 - Juke 1.5dci gunmetal ascenta premium (red accent packs)
Kris2.palmer

Post by Kris2.palmer »

Is the system just a bit naff then? Like you say, it seems like it depends if the car is feeling like playing ball or not. Very odd.

You don't need to have the parking break on or anything then?
MikeGC
Qashqai Model: Mk.3 Qashqai - J12 (2021+) New Model

Post by MikeGC »

I think it works fine but Nissan have tried to build in some leeway to protect the battery and might have been a bit over protective.
After a 40 mile, sub-zero temperature, practically non-stop drive last winter the start/stop did work fine as I approached home but the car was warm, etc. etc.