First 500 miles

Reviews / Comments about the 2014 QashQai
big_boz

Post by big_boz »

Morning all,

Newbie here, been registered a few weeks as the OH has been waiting for her Flame red Ntec+ 1.5DCI to arrive...and now it has.

She got it Friday morning and since then I have driven it 500 miles so thought I would give it a little initial review.

Firstly to give you some background to base the review, I myself drive a '15 plate Passat TDI DSG GT which I got new in March, I also have a '72 beetle, an Alfa 147 for hooning about in, an old Volvo estate on LPG for tip runs and dog duties and I have a 55 plate fiesta which is for when I am working in town and need something I can park anywhere with no fear of damage. So you should hopefully get the idea that I like cars!

The QQ is the OH's first step in Chelsea Tractoring as we have a little one on the way in December, so it was obtained for kiddy purposes and for her to commute. We chose the Derv as although she will only do about 8k, its leased and the black fuelled cars are a fair bit cheaper to buy that way.

So first thoughts....

Positives first:

It Looks great. I have seen plenty of white QQ's but we went for the solid red free colour and I must say it looks really good with the diamond cut 18's.

Its a great motorway cruiser, I am now used to radar cruise in my Passat and have covered 15k in that in 6 months, I was a bit concerned that I might have become dependent but the Nissan system is quite intuitive

Fuel economy is reasonable. I have no miss conceptions that I will achieve the nonsense number quoted by the dealer for any car. Is it 74MPG on this?....no idea but mid 50's on a zero miles car at a reasonably cruising speed is not bad IMO, with 2 adults, one child, and luggage.