Shock Absorbers

Forum for wheels, tyres, suspension, chassis, brakes
CoffeeWolf
Qashqai Model: Mk.1 Qashqai - J10 (2006–2013)

Post by CoffeeWolf »

Hello chaps!
I'm as new here as a Qashqai owner/driver. I just purchased a 2007 1.6 Acenta petrol model and I find it quite a thing.
I do enjoy the sturdy feel of the car, however, I reckon it needs some new shock absorbers and here's why I'm here, asking you folks.

I am no expert, but I'm looking for something which:

- will improve comfort (without making the car rolling excessively)
- might improve the driving
- goes for an accessible budget (I'v got no idea how much parts & work might cost me... 500 quid, maybe?)

I've got a second thing to ask, but that's pretty stupid. I've noticed the car is equipped with bluetooth, but there's no way playing music from spotify (no aux button), any way to 'cheat' the system and enjoying my playlists?

Cheers :D

gloucester
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai - J11 (2013–2017)

Post by gloucester »

Welcome to this forum.

I don't recall anyone talking about replacement dampers previously on here. What sort of mileage have you got on a 13 year old car?

I don't have a pre-2010 handbook - but the 2011 one has an AUX socket in the central armrest. It also suggests you can audio stream. Do you have a 2007 handbook?
(2015 Nissan Qashqai Tekna DIG-T 1.2 sold 15/6/18) ~ 2018 Suzuki Ignis SZ5 - 2018 Yamaha MT-07 ~ (2024 Volvo EX30 ordered)
CoffeeWolf

Post by CoffeeWolf »

Thanks, Gloucester.

I do, I just did not consider it XD. I'll have a check, but I think without an 'aux' button there's not much you can do.

The car's in pretty good condition, single previous owner, 68750 miles on the clock. Not much, still, new dampers will benefit it without a trace of doubt, making it softer and sharper - or at least that's my idea.

I am rider, I know a thing or two about motorcycles, but I'm not confident when talking cars :D, I couldn't name shock absorbers brands for cars...
MikeGC