Rust on Brakes - 3 Week Old Car

Forum for wheels, tyres, suspension, chassis, brakes
qqq2016

Post by qqq2016 »

Hello all - newbie here so hoping you can help.

Having taken delivery of a brand new N-Connecta - I was very surprised to find that my brake pads had seemingly started to rust...

I have added a picture to this so should hopefully give an indication. This is the worse one - the others better but I reckon will go too.

Is this normal? I am so disappointed... :(

Wheel.jpg

Paul L

Post by Paul L »

brake discs are made from steel. they get surface rust.
it's not pretty but it won't detract from them working
2015 Acenta 1.5 DCI. Smart Vision Pack. Nightshade
Bonnet struts
Must get those mud flaps fitted !
DaveBerlin
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai Facelift - J11b (2017–2021)

Post by DaveBerlin »

Firstly welcome to the Forum.
You will normally find some rust on the Discs especially if you have had a lot of wet weather, but this looks a little bit over the top. It looks like the QQ has been left out in a wet field or open for some time, also the insides of the Alloys look lined with the Rusty particles from the Discs. I would suggest with the photos having a word with your Dealer, was a PDC carried out and did you not notice this when picking up the QQ - Dave ;)
Ps would suggest cleaning the inside of the Alloys ASAP due to the Rust Deposits.
11.19/1.3L/160PS/Tekna+/DCT/PrOPILOT/KAD Gun Metallic/Trunk Lower Finisher/Rear Glass Finisher/Ambient Lighting-LED’s Innen/Entry Guards Illuminated/Sport Pedals/Front Styling Plate/LED No.Plate/Chrome Door Handles/Rear Valance/Giacuzzo Alloys + Falken
qqq2016

Post by qqq2016 »

Thanks both of you guys - appreciated.

When I picked it up - they weren't like that at all!! It was all shiny and new. I don't particularly want all four wheels to look like this! :(