How do you enter co-ordinates into the sat nav

ICE, Equipment, Options
User avatar
PJB729
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 10:18 am
Location: The Midlands

How do you enter co-ordinates into the sat nav

Post by PJB729 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:40 pm

I am going over to Ireland in the next few weeks, some of the areas I'm visiting are very rural I have been on Google earth and found the co-ordinates for all my destinations. The question is how do I input these co-ordinates into the QQ's Satnav?????
QQ 1.5dci Tekna 2016 Magnetic Red


User avatar
Gel
Posts: 2208
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 12:02 pm
Location: Thames Valley UK
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai - J11 (2013–2017)

Re: How do you enter co-ordinates into the sat nav

Post by Gel » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:51 pm

Have you not looked in your Connect Manual under "Setting a destination" section?

Method described is not listed.

I'm not aware if Connect allows destination by Irish Post code aka Eircode.
J11A-14 1.5dci Ink Blue Tekna; Chrome Pack, Bonnet Struts, Flaps, Blue Alloygators, SpeedLock,Door & Tailgate Sill guards/Decent horns/ Autoglym Lifeshine /19" Wheels


gvmdaddy
Posts: 1740
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 11:28 pm

Re: How do you enter co-ordinates into the sat nav

Post by gvmdaddy » Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:50 pm

Nissan Connect Manual, section 4-8. You need to do it on a pc or laptop and you need a usb stick.


User avatar
jeffers
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 1:10 pm
Location: South East UK

Re: How do you enter co-ordinates into the sat nav

Post by jeffers » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:04 pm

I seem to remember when I got my QQ last year and before giving up on the sat nav as found it not to my liking or comparable to my Tom Tom ....you can set up your own points of interest on a USB using latitude and longitudes and import to the sat nav. I cant remember the details except I think they had to be in csv format. You may find more info if you do some google research until somebody here comes up with a simple answer if there is one.
In my case I just use my old Tom Tom £80 from Halfords

Edit: ha! see gvmdaddy already answered.
Nissan QQ 1.5 DCi N-Connecta 16 plate Gunmetal
Extras: Supagard Paintwork and Interior, Nissan Protection Pack i.e. Mud Flaps, front & back Interior Mats, Boot Liner


User avatar
PJB729
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 10:18 am
Location: The Midlands

Re: How do you enter co-ordinates into the sat nav

Post by PJB729 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:09 pm

Thanks for the replies

I had expected to be able the enter the co-ordinates directly into the Sat Nav as I previously done in other cars. I read section 4-8 and was a little confused by the reference to POI's, creating a CSV seems a little dated, never mind I'm sure it will not pose a problem.
QQ 1.5dci Tekna 2016 Magnetic Red


User avatar
PJB729
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 10:18 am
Location: The Midlands

Re: How do you enter co-ordinates into the sat nav

Post by PJB729 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:45 pm

I checked on the Eircode site, see below, and many of the places where my research is taking me have Eircodes (postcodes) however even the large hotel in Dublin doesn't publish the Eircode on its site, under contact information!!!!!!!!!

I am going to see if the SatNav accepts Eircodes

https://finder.eircode.ie/#/
QQ 1.5dci Tekna 2016 Magnetic Red


User avatar
PJB729
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 10:18 am
Location: The Midlands

Re: How do you enter co-ordinates into the sat nav

Post by PJB729 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:58 pm

The Sat Nav does not recognise Eircodes I tried a Wexford Eircode and was unable to enter it.
QQ 1.5dci Tekna 2016 Magnetic Red


rod9669
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 10:53 pm

Re: How do you enter co-ordinates into the sat nav

Post by rod9669 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:58 pm

Would google send to car work?


gvmdaddy
Posts: 1740
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 11:28 pm

Re: How do you enter co-ordinates into the sat nav

Post by gvmdaddy » Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:27 pm

It can be done another way, if you have a little patience and time. You will also need to be able to pinpoint accurately a place on the map where you intend to go to. I have photographed the procedure and include them below. If the photos come out clearly and in the correct order it should become self-explanatory .

IMG_0041.JPG

IMG_0042.JPG

IMG_0043.JPG

IMG_0044.JPG

IMG_0045.JPG

IMG_0046.JPG

IMG_0047.JPG

IMG_0048.JPG

IMG_0049.JPG

IMG_0050.JPG

Sorry about the photos being on their side...


User avatar
PJB729
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 10:18 am
Location: The Midlands

Re: How do you enter co-ordinates into the sat nav

Post by PJB729 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:56 pm

I'll give that a try
QQ 1.5dci Tekna 2016 Magnetic Red


Post Reply

Return to “Electronic systems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests