Easy Hill Start v Auto brake hold

ICE, Equipment, Options
StevieG
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai Facelift - J11b (2017–2021)

Post by StevieG »

Good afternoon all,
apologies if this is not posted in the correct place!
I am a newbie to the forum and my introductory post has opened up a bit of a discussion on Easy Hill start V Auto brake Hold
In response to my confusion between the two another very kind member has posted the following:--

“When I bought this J11B QQ in 2017, I pressed the automatic brake hold switch near the gear stick so the function remains active every time I start the car.
The automatic brake hold indicator (white) illuminates when the automatic brake hold system is in standby and the automatic brake hold indicator (green) illuminates while the automatic brake hold system is operating.
It is my understanding that if you use the automatic brake hold, then the easy hill start/assist is disabled, as it is basically the same function. The difference being the automatic brake hold works for up to 3 minutes and the easy hill start is only for 2 seconds.”

That post makes perfect sense to me as I could not understand the need for both. Although I have not had much time or miles in the car to fully understand and become proficient in its operation. It would certainly easy my mind if others could confirm that by selecting Auto brake hold you are in effect disabling Hill start assist.
Thank you in advance and as they say I may be some time in responding as a new talktalk wi-fi hub has just arrived and needs setting up.. Haha I may never be heard of again!
Thanks in advance. Wonderful site.

StevieG

Post by StevieG »

Thanks again calnorth you are a gentleman. I had enough trouble figuring out how to start a new thread. Appreciated
calnorth

Post by calnorth »

The two switches in my 67 Plate QQ are as pic below:

Not noticed switch led behaviour yet as regards their interaction on the move. Need to watch the road antics.