input Longitude and latitude in satnav

The place to discuss everything else..
Post Reply
User avatar
conrail
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:45 pm
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai - J11 (2013–2017)

input Longitude and latitude in satnav

Post by conrail » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:23 pm

HI All, I have a Nissan Qashqai 1.6 dCi Tenka 5 door hatchback, 17 plate.
looking forward to being allowed to visit sister in law, hopefully soon, unfortunately she lives in a new build area and although I have postcode and road name, she says all the roads are all at least 1 mile long but with house names and not numbers, I have used google maps to view, (all houses look exactly the same), is there an option when programming my satnav to input Longitude and latitude details in rather than address/postcode?

User avatar
MikeGC
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:50 am
Location: Stockport
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai Facelift - J11b (2017–present)

Re: input Longitude and latitude in satnav

Post by MikeGC » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:45 pm

Something I have wondered about (hidden away nature reserves often don’t have a postcode) but I don’t think it’s possible.
July 2019 Qashqai 1.3DIG-T 160 DCT Tekna in Vivid Blue
previous March 2017 Qashqai 1.5dci n-connecta in Gun Metal Grey
previous September 2014 Juke 1.5dci n-connecta in Gun Metal Grey

BobM
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: input Longitude and latitude in satnav

Post by BobM » Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:56 pm

Use what3words app on your phone for the last bit after you get to the post code
2013 360 2.0d 4wd

User avatar
conrail
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:45 pm
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai - J11 (2013–2017)

Re: input Longitude and latitude in satnav

Post by conrail » Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:45 pm

thank you BobM, much appreciated

User avatar
calnorth
Posts: 1298
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:01 pm
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai Facelift - J11b (2017–present)

Re: input Longitude and latitude in satnav

Post by calnorth » Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:00 am

conrail wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:23 pm
HI All, I have a Nissan Qashqai 1.6 dCi Tenka 5 door hatchback, 17 plate.
looking forward to being allowed to visit sister in law, hopefully soon, unfortunately she lives in a new build area and although I have postcode and road name, she says all the roads are all at least 1 mile long but with house names and not numbers, I have used google maps to view, (all houses look exactly the same), is there an option when programming my satnav to input Longitude and latitude details in rather than address/postcode?
Place of Interest (POI)
Yes..into a small Excel spread sheet page. 3 columns. Lat, Long and Your Description. Take from Google maps and upload to Connect box via USB stick - My POI's
Thankfully unbusy (retired)
Mk2 Qashqai Facelift - J11b (2017–present)
1.6 Dig-T N-Connecta

User avatar
conrail
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:45 pm
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai - J11 (2013–2017)

Re: input Longitude and latitude in satnav

Post by conrail » Wed Jul 01, 2020 1:28 pm

tank you calnorth, I appreciate your help

User avatar
conrail
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:45 pm
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai - J11 (2013–2017)

Re: input Longitude and latitude in satnav

Post by conrail » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:35 am

Hi calnorth, I have created my xl spreadsheet but it has csv & xls suffixes, ie - 'longitude & latitude.csv.xls' is this right?

User avatar
calnorth
Posts: 1298
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:01 pm
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai Facelift - J11b (2017–present)

Re: input Longitude and latitude in satnav

Post by calnorth » Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:14 am

conrail wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:35 am
Hi calnorth, I have created my xl spreadsheet but it has csv & xls suffixes, ie - 'longitude & latitude.csv.xls' is this right?
Hi...save it as filename.csv - filename is your specific name for that file...

A csv file is simply data with commas between each element - comma separated values

On plug into the cars USB socket, the Nav system will recognise that a "download" is apparent ...allow it to do that. You should see it in the POI menus..My POI I think?

NOTE:
The data row structure should be in this order. Nav system wants Longitude first..for some reason?

-1.76503 | 53.79533 | Place ID


You could add a whole series of Lat/Longs for future use? Rows of them
Thankfully unbusy (retired)
Mk2 Qashqai Facelift - J11b (2017–present)
1.6 Dig-T N-Connecta

User avatar
conrail
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:45 pm
Qashqai Model: Mk.2 Qashqai - J11 (2013–2017)

Re: input Longitude and latitude in satnav

Post by conrail » Fri Jul 03, 2020 6:27 pm

having a few teething problems here, 1Gb USB inserted but poi keeps telling me there are no files on it, I have Longitude/latitude/name, have even tried in different order but get the message on files on the usb, usb is recognised but not the contents, I have 5 entries on it to give it a go, so any suggestions as to what I am doing wrong will be greatly appreciated

Post Reply